‘Fangirl’ by Rainbow Rowell REVIEW

Fangirl for blog

When I first bought Fangirl I was absolutely thrilled to read it since I had already read two other books by Rainbow Rowell: Attachments and Eleanor & Park. These two I adored. Therefore, you can understand how delighted I was when I got my hands on a copy or Fangirl. Also, there’s the fact that when I first heard of this bestseller I thought that I’d literally be reading a book about myself.

However, Fangirl is a book derived from real life (which I expected) and therefore it isn’t a book for escape merely enjoyment.
My preferred reading is generally fiction as it provides the escape needed from real life. Consequently, after the initial beginning stage where I thought the book was headed to a great start, I felt as though the book was becoming slightly tedious. But no, that didn’t stop me from reaching the end of the book.

Instead, I ploughed my way through it and constantly thought ‘maybe I should read Simon Snow (the story constantly mentioned in Fangirl)’. But once I searched the story up and found out that it was fictional I was devastated.

There wasn’t a main, massive ‘bang’ of an event revealed through the book, which I was greatly accustomed to. Instead there were general, small events which occur through everyday life. I guess that was the plot of the book.

To summarise, if you are a dystopian loving reader (like me) you might want to give the book a go. However, I can’t guarantee your interest. But if you love the whole ‘real case’ scenario this is a book worth your time.

Goodreads link to the book: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19174917-fangirl

Goodreads link to my profile: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/27118401-siredhybridxx

I rated the story 3/5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

