‘Red Queen’ by Victoria Aveyard REVIEW

It has been a while but here’s my review post (I will be posting more reviews):

Red Queen

I received this book for free from one book lane at the Insurgent premiere in March and I was ecstatic at receiving it – I mean who wouldn’t be at the chance of being given a free book?

However, now that my exams are over I plucked the book from my bookshelf to start reading. From the blurb and the first few chapters of the book, the feeling of ‘been there, done that’ adhered to me. Through Mare I was reminded of Katniss and throughout the book various scenes relayed the story of The Hunger Games. Both Mare and Katniss are seen as the “face of the revolution.” I understand the need to draw inspiration from other sources and overall, I enjoyed this book very much. Also, the ‘mutation’ side reminded me of Divergent. I guess right now these books are the hype.

Victoria Aveyard’s writing proved captivating and intrigued me to continue the story until the end. The plot twist (which I will not reveal, since I don’t like spoilers myself) really got to me. And I applaud Victoria Aveyard in writing an explicitly fascinating story.

Lastly, I am delighted to say that I am awaiting 2016 and 2017 for the next two books. Honestly, I NEED to know what happens next, although it may be slightly predictable. I have an obsession, it seems, with these types of books.

Goodreads link to the book: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22369406-red-queen

Goodreads link to my profile: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/27118401-siredhybridxx

I rated the story 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

4 thoughts on “‘Red Queen’ by Victoria Aveyard REVIEW

Leave a Reply

